I am Woman Runner

October 8, 2009 at 6:56 pm Leave a comment

No doubt about it!

No doubt about it!

I have had a cold all week, which has kept me from running.  I have tried very hard not to write about this, but I have finally come to the conclusion that it’s my blog and I can whine if I want to.

I hate not being able to get up and go for a morning run, or for run a quick jog during lunch, or for an after-work sprint to relax.  Too much thinking and not enough running has led me to wonder, what is a runner if she is not running?

Before my first run I bought The Complete Book of Running for Women by Claire Kowalchik, former managing editor at Runner’s World.  I found comfort early in the book when she encouraged readers to call themselves runners even if they weren’t fast or thin or running a lot of miles.  I am thankful I read these words before I had a chance to label myself as  “just a jogger” or a “running wanna be.”  I am also thankful I ran my first race with a goal of finishing it instead of beating records.

As I approach my first half marathon, I can’t help telling everyone what I am planning.  “I am running a half marathon.”  The words are so liberating.  I don’t care what my finish time is or how many people pass me, what I care about is that I am going to be out there, too.  I am going to be one of the 8500 runners logging 13.1 miles on December 5 to raise money for St. Jude.  I am a runner; a runner with a purpose.

For me, running has not been about perfecting myself, but about loving myself.  The pride I feel when I push through the last mile is all mine.  And the fact that I want to feel that way again is the definitive proof I am a runner.  Even this cold can’t take that away from me.

Hmmm, since I can’t run I might as well shop for running stuff!

Photo credit: http://ohhoneyno.wordpress.com/page/2/

Entry filed under: Beginning Runner, Training, women running. Tags: , , .

Running Power Song Needed Seeing Double

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


