Visualizing success despite my missing mug

October 12, 2009 at 4:55 pm Leave a comment

mugDespite the wide selection of coffee mugs available in our office kitchen cabinets, I prefer to bring my own.  I like drinking my tea out of the same mug each day, knowing exactly how I will start my day as I sort my emails.

Today, my mug was gone.  After three separate trips to the kitchen (each time I opened the cabinet and hoped my mug would magically appear), I looped the office and discovered my mug…in the hand of the Global Sr. VP.

It took a few moments for the creepy feeling I often get when people want to try on my shoes or borrow my favorite blanket or just invade into my personal space a little too much to pass.  Then I faced two simple facts: 1) I am not going to tell the Global Sr. VP she has my mug, and 2) If I am going to drink my morning tea, I will be drinking it in something else.

Two more trips to the kitchen cabinets and I finally selected a disposable cup.  I just could not commit to another one.

I am really not a structured person, but I often find these little glitches to how I envisioned my day become major roadblocks.  I’ve learned that if I cannot get a positive mental picture of myself doing something, I either won’t do it or I do it and it usually turns out as I imagined.  I turned down a full scholarship to one university because the image that immediately popped in my head each time I considered attending was of me walking to class alone on a gray winter morning, a scarf at my neck blowing wildly in the harsh wind.  (It was an SEC school, so this scenario was really pretty ridiculous.)

Yet, I have also learned that powerful positive visualization can be the key to successful runs.   When I take the time to see myself running powerfully mile after mile, then the miles are usually just as I thought they would be.  Lately, I’ve decided what I am wearing the night before so I can see my pink-shirted self moving through the streets on my “hilly Thursday route.”  I imagine the chill on my legs and dew in the grass and hear my power song encouraging me up the big monster.

After a week of eyes so swollen from a nasty cold that the only thing I could envision was my bed, I am finally better and overcome with exciting images of tomorrow’s run.  Green shirt, lucky shorts, 61 degrees, uphill start in the fading darkness, flat finish, all power.   And after the run, my shower and my commute, I see myself celebrating with a whole-wheat bagel, string cheese and a cup of decaf tea in my mug.

Photo Credit: http://www.zazzle.com/i_love_running_coffee_mug-168832021362940069

Entry filed under: Beginning Runner, Moving, Training. Tags: , , , , , .

Seeing Double Running strong after a cold

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


