Running strong after a cold

October 13, 2009 at 8:35 pm Leave a comment

running-up-hillI read entirely too much and watch little TV.  At least that was the case before moving here and seeing my boyfriend every day.  I am always looking for new things to read on running.   Sometimes I choose to forget what I read something because it is not what I want to hear, but usually read knowledge is what I build fitness and training plan upon.

During my cold last week I read everything I could find about running while sick.  Overall, it was agreed you should never run with a fever or if you are sick below the neck. Though my cold was just in my head, I was in no shape to run and knew it.  I was much more concerned with all the training sessions I was missing.

As a recap, I am running a half marathon in 8 weeks.  I will have been running only 3 months when I line up at the start.  I am doing the Hal Higdon 12-week program, but initially started on week 2 as I was already a week late my first 4-miler event.  Surely missing a week of training, 12 miles of running plus conditioning, would be disastrous?

Most online sources agreed it would take a couple of weeks to start losing my fitness and endurance level, and after today’s run I concur.  I did my 4 miles and felt pretty good.  I did grow a little tired at the end, but overall it was a great run.  Better yet, the last time I ran this route (in the 90-degree heat) I was defeated and questioning my abilities. Today, I tackled the hills at a great pace.

I have tweaked my schedule this week to prepare for The Tower of Terror run next Saturday.  I am concerned that the days on my feet at the parks prior to the race will wear my body out a bit, but hopefully the excitement will cancel that out.

Tomorrow, I will be rowing and do ankle strengthening.  Tonight, dinner and trivia. 🙂

Photo credit: http://www.fitsugar.com/1608239

Entry filed under: Beginning Runner, Training. Tags: , , , , , , .

Visualizing success despite my missing mug Setting Marathon Goals: I think I will run it

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


