Setting Marathon Goals: I think I will run it

October 14, 2009 at 5:06 pm 1 comment

gumpx

I read a lot of running blogs, both instructive and narrative in format.  In fact, one blog entry really pushed me over the edge when I was deciding to sign up for my half marathon.  As the season kicks off, everyone had begun posting reports of their races.  Reading a few great marathon recaps today I suddenly, and quite unexpectedly, got nervous.

I started this blog for me, so I would have a place to talk about all my running thoughts, and hopes, and fears…and so that I would stop driving my family and friends crazy by talking about running all the time.  So far, it has worked really well and my loved ones have lost the tell-tell, glossy-eyed stare.  I did not, however, anticipate how intimidating it would be to try putting my hopes in writing.

I still don’t have a finish time in mind for my half.  In fact, I don’t really know how to set a marathon goal.  With seven weeks out, the furthest I have run is 5 miles.  While my average pace is holding strong between 10:00 and 10:15, I am sure maintaining that pace will become harder as I run further.  Of course, by then I assume 10 miles will feel like my 5 miles feel now.  Even so, I am reserving the right to not set a goal until I have done my 10 miles.

But even without a time goal—and I still reserve the right to not set a time goal too—I know my real goal is to run the whole way.  Again, I really don’t know if that is realistic, but that is my goal each time I set out: to run.

As I think about the race, still weeks away with many obstacles yet to be discovered, I have decided to calm my nerves by just telling myself over and over that when my day comes, I will run.  I don’t know what the weather will be like, if I will need to poo in the middle, what gu or food will be my secret weapon, or who will be there to see me finish, but I know I will run.  And me running really is an amazing thought…that makes me feel much better.

Photo credit: http://www.cyclonefanatic.com/forum/off-topic/40136-10-most-inaccurate-biographical-films.html

Entry filed under: Beginning Runner. Tags: , , , , .

Running strong after a cold Stalked by creepy car during run

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. danica  |  October 14, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    ah thanks for the link 🙂 You can run it!!! 🙂 Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


