Two-month Running Anniversary

November 3, 2009 at 8:26 pm 1 comment

anniversary_balloon

I checked my training log today and confirmed that yesterday was the two-month anniversary of my first run. Wow, two months. When I think of all I have accomplished from that first 1.75 miles to today I can’t help but be proud. I’ve run a 4-mile and 8-mile race, as well as committing to run a half marathon. And with that half marathon a month away, I feel very good about running it.

I have completed 25 runs and have 13 more before my half. Some have definitely been better than others (my training long only had on word for my run on Sept 5—pukey), but overall they have been good. Each run builds on the next, and each improvement is built on previous struggles.

My long run of 7 miles on Saturday went really well and the 4.75 miles I put in yesterday were smooth, too. I needed these runs to boost my confidence and they did just that. My commitment to follow my training schedule and run a strong half is through the roof.

Maybe the most important thing I did to show (force) my commitment to my training this weekend was finalize my training schedule and reschedule any runs disturbed by travel and the holidays. I now know all my runs will fit into my schedule and that I better do them because they don’t fit anywhere else.

It was hard not to run during lunch today, because I just feel so good, but looking back at my training log also reminded me of the consequences of overtraining. Instead, I read Runner’s World and dreamed about my own dramatic race finish.

Photo Credit: http://www.gamespot.com/users/Domovsky/show_blog_entry.php?topic_id=m-100-25577902

Entry filed under: Beginning Runner. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Weekend running prep Creative hydration on long runs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. auntfun  |  November 7, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Congratulations!!! Going from no running to running a half marathon in three months is an amazing feat. I have enjoyed reading your blog and I am so impressed by your tenacity and progress. I hope I get to meet you in Memphis! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


