Brought to you by the color purple

November 16, 2009 at 9:11 pm Leave a comment

Well, I did it.  I ran 9 miles on Sunday, making this week’s long run my longest run ever.  I am still slightly in disbelief that I actually ran 9 miles, but my knees are both assuring me with each step that I did.  My split times were all a little slower than usual, but overall it was a solid run and I am not complaining—well, not complaining about anything other than my knees.  (Ice and Advil do your thing)

In an effort to totally freak myself out motivate myself for the year ahead, I plotted my races and training weeks on a 2010 calendar.  I think my New Year’s resolution will be to sleep as much as possible because after training that is all I will have the strength to do.  At least I have a few weeks to look at the seemingly impossible 5 months of training before committing with entry fees in December.

Today, the purchase on my mind is my half marathon ensemble.  I know I will be wearing one of two pairs of black tights, my favorite of which has a little purple accent stripe.  I keep debating about making purple my “color of the day” and ordering a shirt to match.  It seems silly when I have several other perfectly good shirts, but somehow the purple is calling to me. And I need to decide now so I can wear it a few times to break it in.  Hmmm…I’ll let you know.

The other thing calling my name is meat.  It’s the last night of downtown dining, and we will be at Texas de Brazil for an all-you-can-eat meat feast.  OK, truthful that much meat the night before a morning run sounds disgusting to me and I am hoping no one will notice if I load up at the salad bar instead.  I think one week of good training and sensible eating will have me ready for a much better time on my 10 miles this Saturday.

My countdown calendar is a constant reminder that Decemeber 5th will be here before I know it.  This week I am feeling much more prepared.  Pilates today to stretch out and get ready for tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , , , , .

Lace Up and Get Past It Just 35 more miles

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


