Just 35 more miles

November 20, 2009 at 10:38 pm 1 comment

There are no two ways about; I procrastinate.  More than once after finally doing the thing I’ve been dreading, I have found myself thinking, “that wasn’t so bad,” or “that was much quicker/better/more fun than I expected.”  I procrastinate about a long list of things including cleaning, work projects, taking the dog out and even going to bed.  Lately, I have put off running until the last possible moment too, which makes my blog even later!

I can say I sort of had a good reason to stall on running this week, or at least I thought I did.  After my 9 miles Sunday, my right knee was really sore.  After icing all day Monday, I was afraid to run on it Tuesday and opted for the gym instead.  Thursday I was supposed to run, but I was so afraid of finding out my knee was really “messed up,” I waited until today.  A week’s worth of worry (and rest) resulted in a fine run today and very little pain afterwards.

Running really is 98% mental.  I have just 35 miles to go before my race and I need every one of them.  Putting them off is not an option.  No room for procrastination or excuses.  Just 35 more miles.  I can’t believe I have come this far, and you better believe I am going all the way!  Next up: 10 on Sunday.

Photo credit: http://kenkurp.blogspot.com/2008_06_29_archive.html

Entry filed under: Training. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Brought to you by the color purple The Future

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lewis Birchon  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Good luck for your race! For what my advice is worth, spending some time and effort on running technique pays dividends because it takes the strain out of your joints.

    Remember that all the training will be worthwhile on race day, and there’s a great benefit to knowing the race isn’t that much different from what you’ve run before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


