Back at the gym

December 11, 2009 at 9:33 pm Leave a comment

I finally made it back to the gym yesterday.  I delayed a few extra days due to the cold and I was eager to get moving.  I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and while it felt good, it also felt like I had a cold.  Everything below the neck was fine, but my head continued to get heavier as I went so I kept things light.

Last night I went back to the gym for my first yoga class.  I can definitely see why runners should do yoga, though I don’t think yoga could ever stand in for a crosstraining session.  My instructor was great at explaining all the moves, and I really enjoyed the deep stretch.  I really felt it in my Achilles, but I am not sure if that was the focus or just where I am really tight.

The best part was waking up and not being sore today.  I felt much looser this morning and hope I can catch the class a few days a week.  I am not very good at meditating, so maybe this is the beginning of a deeper, more focused, me.

This weekend, I am focusing on shopping and getting in my first post-half run.  I also need to tweak my training schedule (again) and decide if I want to through another half in the mix for April.  Things may be getting out of hand, but at least I am having fun!

Entry filed under: Cross Training. Tags: , , , , .

St Jude Half Marathon Recap 2009

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


